What is Star Stable Online? Part 8 THE BEAUTY OF THE MALL – NOT JAMES.

What is Star Stable Online? Part 8 THE BEAUTY OF THE MALL – NOT JAMES.

Hello wonderful people! Whether you love Star Stable and/or want to know about it, I hope you like this post of “What is Star Stable Online?”! Last part I said that we’re nearing the end of the non-Star Rider quests. We are, but don’t worry, we’re not there yet. When we left off we had just finished a quest with Conrad Marsdeen, the blacksmith. We’re not going to do the quest that we had to wait a day for just yet, because right now if you go to James in Fort Pinta, he should have a quest for you. Before you can get to that quest though, you have to do some short quests where you “Save the Buoys!” and put up posters and take pictures of Fort Pinta. (What James says isn’t that important and if you’re online on Wednesdays you can do these quests- only if you’ve been a Star Rider before I believe- and they’re exactly the same.) Once you’ve done those quests, you unlock a quest that allows you to go to the mall! Talk to James.

“Hi (insert character name). Sigh.

Why am I sighing? Hmm… Almost all of the clothes I have in stock to sell to the tourists here are sold out. I guess it’s a pretty nice problem to have, since it means I’ve already sold lots of stuff, but it’s still a problem… Before now, I’ve always been able to order new clothes and have them delivered from Jorvik City, but it’s not been going very well. All the packages of clothes seem to be getting lost, like by the roadside and so on, which means I don’t end up with anything to sell. I should really head over to Jorvik City now and pick up new stock, but who’d be here taking care of all the tourists if I went there?

So, yeah… (Insert character name)… Might you be able to do me a favour? Could you go to the mall for me and pick up the things I’ve ordered? The mall? Yeah, Jorvik City Plaza, Jorvik’s biggest shopping mall!

You’ll go? Amazing! Thanks (insert character name)! You could probably also pick up the horse gear I’ve ordered as well. Y’know, while you’re there… How do you get to Jorvik City Plaza? It’s easy! All you have to do is take the bus. There’s even a stop right here in Fort Pinta!

But… You need a bus ticket. Unfortunately, every bus ticket can only be used by the person who bought it, otherwise I’d lend you mine. It’s easy to buy your own though. The Notary here in Fort Pinta sells bus tickets, so buy one from him. When you’ve bought it, you activate it in the machine behind me. I haven’t really got the time to carry on chatting now (insert character name), business calls! So, buy a bus ticket and activate it in the machine behind me.”

Once you’re done reading there’s a short cut-scene where it shows you where to Notary is and where the activation machine is. Go over to the Notary first and buy a bus ticket. If you click on him he talks to you, and once you’re done talking to him it takes you to the shop, but first, let’s see what he has to say.

“If I sell tickets and travel cards? Why, yes indeed I do! Have a look in my shop and see if you find anything that suits you!”

Okay, now you can go to the shop. All that’s in there right now is a bus ticket. It’s called “Bus Ticket” and the description is, “This bus ticket entitles the holder to travel with Jorvik Transport’s buses!” there aren’t any restrictions and you can buy it for 110 Jorvik Shillings or 11 Star Coins. Once you’ve bought it, you can exit out of the shop and walk over to the activation machine. Open your inventory and drag the bus ticket onto the activation machine. You have to be standing close to the machine to be able to have it activate it. It takes about seven seconds to activate. Once you’re done you can talk to James.

“Excellent (insert character name)! Now you’ve got a bus ticket, and it’s validated as well! Believe me, those bus drivers can spot a invalid ticket from a mile away!

Hurry off to the mall now though; no time to waste! The bus leaves from the other side of the bridge to Fort Pinta. All you need is to go there and wait for the bus to come. Show your ticket to the driver, and then he’ll drive you to the mall in no time at all!

Don’t hang out there for too long, just think of all the customers I won’t be able to trick… Umm… I mean, make happy during all the time you’re away if I don’t have anything to sell! See ya!”

There’s a short cut-scene again that shows where the bus will stop.

Run over there and wait for the bus to come. Once you get there it says, “Wait here until the bus comes.” So as it says, and as I wrote, wait for the bus to come. A bus comes every 3 minutes. Once it comes you have to hurry and drag your bus ticket onto the front of the bus, where the driver would be sitting across from you and where you would get on. I wrote hurry because it’s only there for about 15 seconds or so. Once you drop the bus ticket it has a loading screen. On the loading screen it says;

“You get on the bus and take a seat. After a long drive through Jorvik’s beautiful countryside, the bus finally drives into Jorvik City. The announcement on the bus comes loud and clear…

“Next stop, Jorvik City Plaza.”‘

Once your loading screen is done loading, you’re at the wonderful Jorvik City Plaza. There’s a man that has the end of a quest for you. He’s the janitor.

“Hey! You there! Yeah you! Can’t you see I just mopped that floor?

Kids these days… Sigh… No respect for their elders.”

Talk to him again.

“Well well, what can I do for you then? You’re picking up stuff for James in Fort Pinta you say?

Heh! Well you’re certainly not the first victim he’s sent to do his work for him, all because he’s too stingy to buy his own bus ticket, he sends other people here to do his heavy lifting. Who do you think has to take care of all these lost sheep he sends here?

Exactly! It’s me! But now I’ve had enough! I can’t be bothered to help you as well as all the others, you’ll have to look after yourself!

Sigh. Ok, since you ask so nicely… You can help me with something in return though first.

You’ll be happy to help me, you say?! Well that’s great! Maybe you’re not as useless as all those other pushovers James sends…

As you see, the floor here is completely spotless. Not a bad job if I do say so myself! Sadly people just walk all over it any which way they please, but we’re going to put a stop to that. They act like they own the place, they never show any respect for my hard work. Pff.

Here, set out these warning signs where I’ve just mopped, and maybe the floor with be able to stand up to their filth for at least a little while. Go on, get out of here. Place out the signs are don’t come back before it’s done.”

Okay then sir. Go around the  mall and drag warning signs or, “Wet Floor Signs” and return to the janitor before you’re done…just kidding. Return to him when you’re done.

“Yeah, yeah, that’s not so dumb. Maybe there’s hope for you yet.”

Talk to him again.

“Hmm, did you think you were finished?

Haha, no. I knew you’d think you were finished, you’re a total lazybones just like everyone else who visits my mall! You’re not a lazybones, you say? Ok, well let’s see about that. You can prove you’re not a sleepy little slacker like all the others, spoiled little princess wondering around like they own the place, leaving all their garbage behind them. Rude is what they are! Rude and vile! When I tell the boss about the rude, vile pigs, all I hear is “you should smile at the customers”.

Bah! If it was up to me, I’d keep all of them all out of the mall and then there’d finally be a bit of order around here. Ah well, until that day comes, somebody’s gonna have to pick up all the rubbish they throw everywhere and today, that somebody isn’t going to be me. Ha!

Pick up all the garbage you find lying around the place and then maybe I’ll help you. Go on! Scram!”

Right now you can’t rely on your map to help you because on your mini-map it says that you’re in the same place. Go around the mall and click on any trash that you find. Not including people. (Sorry I had to add that.) Once you’re done return to the janitor.

“Good. You’ve done a really nice job.

Ok, you seem to be a little better bred than some of the other nitwits that hang around here at the mall. I’ll help you.”

Thank you, Mr. Janitor.

There are two quests you can do. “Faster than a Runaway Horse” and “Jorvik City Plaza: Horse Equipment Store”. Faster than a Runaway Horse is at the top, so let’s do that one first.

“Well, you surely know how that James works. Last time he was here, he tried to get me to buy a time-share apartment in one of the towers of Fort Pinta. It wasn’t even built, it didn’t even have planning permission but he still tried to get me to put down a deposit that was enough money to have bought half of Valedale! Pfff. I seem to remember letting him know exactly what I thought of him at the time. Haha! I’ve never seen anyone run so fast!

Haha! He must’ve run all the way back to Fort Pinta faster than a bolted horse! Since then he’s never dared show his face around here which is probably why that wretched little rat sent you instead…

Ah well, James orders clothes from Gordon at the clothes store over there. Talk to Gordon, he’s a friendly sort and can probably do something for you.

Come back to me with the clothes delivery once you’ve got it. No point in carrying a huge heavy pile of clothes while you’re here. I’ll look after them until you’re ready to ride back to James.”

Well, that was nice of you, Mr. Janitor. Talk to him again for the “Jorvik City Plaza: Horse Equipment store” quest.

“So, James has sent you to pick up the horse equipment he ordered?

Right. He must’ve ordered it from Alyx, she’s the owner of the horse equipment store here in Jorvik City Plaza. Go and talk to her, and then come back once you’ve got the delivery. I’ll keep my eye on for you until you’re ready to go back to James with it ifi you leave it with me. No point in wandering around with a bunch of head saddles and stuff if you don’t have to.”

That’s nice of him! So now you have two quests. The clothes store is to the right side of you if you’re facing and talking to the janitor’s face. The horse equipment store is right behind the janitor. Let’s talk to Alyx first. Alyx is cool. I’m not saying that Gordon isn’t, but let’s talk to Alyx first. Go into the horse equipment store and talk to her.

“Welcome to Jorvik’s biggest horse equipment store! How can I help you?

Equipment for James? Oh! You’re here to pick up his order? That’s a shame.”

Talk to this lovely lady again.

“I thought that I’d do James a favour, so I sent his delivery off on its way. It was only a couple minutes ago that I sent it, so you’re lucky!

You don’t look happy. You won’t have to carry it anymore, cheer up!  Haha! You’re strange. Why do you want to do loads of work if you can get away with not doing it?

You promised him, you say? Ok, ok. If you hurry you might be able to catch up with JB before he sets off from the mall.

Who’s JB?

He’s the driver that takes all the deliveries to Silverglade. He usually stops for a cup of coffee before he gets out on the road in his truck. Hurry over to the cafe and you might just catch him.

See you! Come back soon!”

Before you ask, no, JB isn’t Justin Bieber, he’s an old guy, and no, it’s still not Justin Bieber. Now if you want to, you can go talk to Gordon now. Go over to the clothing store that Gordon owns.

“Hello! Welcome to Jorvik City Plaza’s clothes store! The biggest clothes store in all of Jorvik!

If you want to try on some of our fabulous outfits, all you need to do is go into the fitting room over there and check out our collections!

Clothes delivery to James? Oh right. I thought you wanted to buy something.

Oh well.”

Gordon you’re making my feel guilty. I’m sorry. Maybe we’ll buy something next time, bud…talk to him again.

“Hmm… Now let’s see…

Exactly! James’ order… I have it in the stock room, wait a second and I’ll grab it for you. Ah. Hmm.

I lock the door to the stock room every evening. I always leave the keys in my backpack since I’m forever losing little things like keys and coins, so the backpack helps me remember where everything is. Hold on, I’ll just grab it.

Hmm…

Where’s my backpack? No! I must’ve left it somewhere!

Oh no… This means I can’t get into the stock room… Would you be able to help me? My backpack must be around here somewhere. Could you take a look around the mall and see if you can find it?”

Sure, Gordon. We’re nice people, right?…right..?…oh…okay..

No, but really, the backpack is on the second floor. When I first got this quest it took me forever to find it. What? I did! I’m not that good at questing…well…I wasn’t…at the time. I’m getting better! Haha! I had to go into the cafe where JB was to be able to find it. No, it’s not in there, but it’s right above it, and I tried to get it from the cafe because I was lazy, but it didn’t really work…anyway, if you go onto the escalator (yes there’s an escalator! I love escalators! Do you? Comment down below!) it’s up there. I’m not going to write about that yet- let’s go talk to JB in the cafe!

“Stop.

Hold it one second… Back up, back up. Let JB drink his coffee in peace before he goes back to putting his life on the line out on the roads of Jorvik.

Shhhh…

Hmm… This isn’t coffee! This is… TEA!

Everyone calm down! JB is here, just take is easy.

Y’know what old JB would say when this kind of thing happens? What?! You don’t know who JB is? I’M JB!

What’s your name? (Insert character name). Mhm, well it doesn’t matter anyway. I’ve got a job for you. Get me some coffee. With milk. Don’t forget the milk!”

Okay then JB. Oh, and JB stands for Jack B. I don’t know what the B stands for, but if I knew his last name, I would tell you. So there’s a trade thing above his head- WAIT- don’t go and buy some coffee with milk for him. I did that and I knew I messed up. Go over to the cafe owner named Clementine and talk to her.

“Hello there! Do you have a moment?

Would you be able to help me with something? I wouldn’t ask if it wasn’t urgent.

Thanks!

So it’s like this: all the customers that order from the cafe don’t just sit nicely at their tables, and instead wander off around the mall with my cups and saucers and just leave them randomly lying around the place. Because of this, I’m almost out of dishes to serve things in, and I’m on my own here so I can’t leave the cafe to pick them all up.

I’d be able to stay here and serve the guests if you wouldn’t mind going around the mall and gathering up all the dishes…

Thanks so much! This is super nice of you.”

This is why you don’t buy coffee with milk. She gives it to you. Go around the mall and pick up the dishes as she said. What I would do to prevent this happening, is I would put a notice board and put it up in the cafe and put a little notice poster outside on the glass window. And ALSO, while you’re up on the second floor, which you’ll have to go to in order to get some of the dishes, there’s the backpack! It’s by the lockers if you can spot them.

Once you’re done gathering the dishes, return to Clementine.

“Great! You found all the dishes that disappeared from the cafe!

Thanks a lot!”

Now you have the coffee with milk. See? No money wasted. You actually got money from that quest I’m pretty sure. Click on Jack now, and click Yes when it says to complete the swap!

It’s done! Now talk to him.

“Ha!

Now I’m ready! Time to get out into the open road again. Keep the home fires burning and if I’m not back by sunrise, call the Councilman!

What now? A delivery for James, you ask?

Of course! It’s right beside me. You can trust old JB, my deliveries always get where they’re going! Door to door! Last month I managed to drive off the bridge to Fort Pinta THREE times! Three! That’s a new record! You can tell James that JB’s on his way!

You’ll take the order to James, you say? Oh, okay. Less work for me, I suppose! Take it!”(Pick up the delivery next to JB and take it to the Janitor)

Yes, it says that “(Pick up the delivery next to JB and take it to the Janitor)” in the speaking box. And yes, I said speaking box, I don’t know what else to call it. JB thinks he’s such a superhero…should we tell him? Okay..I guess I don’t have the heart though…poor old guy…I actually feel kind of bad for him…

Pick up the box and walk/run over to the Janitor.

“Looks like you got all the horse equipment James ordered! I’ll keep an eye on it until you’re ready to head back to Fort Pinta.”

Thanks, Mr. Janitor! That’s quite nice of you!

Now let’s go and talk to Gordon in the clothes store.

“Amazing! You found my backpack!

Haha, you’ll never guess what happened while you were away. I’d forgotten to lock the door to the stock room, so I didn’t need the key in the backpack in the end. It’s really nice of you to help me though!”

…why…?

It took so long to find…

I…I can’t believe you Gordon…

Why didn’t you check to see if it were unlocked in the first place?…

Oh well…I’ll just find another person to buy my clothes from…

Fine! Let’s talk to him again then.

“Seems like forgetting to lock the stock room was pretty lucky in the end. I found time to pick out the items on James’ order while you were out looking for my backpack.

Here, who was supposed to get the order again? James! Of course, that’s how it was.

Hmm… Are you sure you don’t need to go to the mall Janitor first? Everyone else who James sends seems to go to him, and I can understand why! This order must weigh half a ton! You won’t want to wander around with all that extra weight if you don’t need to!”

I’d wander around with all that extra weight if I wanted to, Gordon! Are you saying I’m weak? I CHALLENGE YOU TO A DUEL! BOOM! RKO! HAHA! Yeah? Haha! Wait…no…? Oh…okay then…well…okay…

MR. JANITOR! I AM COMING YOUR WAY! Wha-what? Oh okay. I was just trying to be- okay…um…well…okay then…

Go over to the Janitor and talk to him.

“Hello again! So you got James’ clothes order? It’s quite heavy, right? Thought so! His orders usually are.

I’ll look after everything while you get the rest of James’ stuff!”

Well, okay, but that was all of it. Talk to the Janitor again.

“So there we go, now you’ve got both of the deliveries James wanted. Come back to the mall tomorrow if you want, but wipe your feet on the way in, I don’t want more dirty feet tramping over my nice clean floors!

I hope you get something from James for all the trouble you’ve gone to. Not likely, but now you’ve got yourself a bus ticket you’ll be able to come back here whenever you like.

See you soon!”

Bye Mr. Janitor! He’s not to bad after all.

Ride back to James and talk to him.

“Hey (insert character name), how did it go?

Wonderful! Both clothes and horse equipment! These are going to sell like hot cakes!

Reward? I promised you a reward? Hmm, seems like you remembered wrong.

Ok, ok, you can have something. Hold on, lemme see what I’ve got in this box…

Here, this is probably nice or something, you’ll like it. Now you’ll have to excuse me, I’ve got business to attend to.”

Yeah, you better give me something, James.

But um…that jacket was um…nice? I suppose…

Well, anyway, I’m sure it was all James could find that was girly I guess, even though not everyone’s girly heh. I feel like he’s the type of guy who would think that all girls are pink-lovers, and that’s okay I guess!

Anyway, that’s all I’m going to write for now! I’m at almost at four thousand words! I know it’s not much, but I like to think that it is. I hope you guys enjoyed reading, and that it wasn’t too much. I hope you guys have a wonderful day, and stay safe!

Forever and always,

-Penny ♥

Leave a comment